PDA

View Full Version : Baby Drops Jacket

MerigoldinWA
07-30-2010, 12:15 AM
I just finished this little set. It is Baby Drops 17-1. I have some annoying mistakes, like the button placement. But when I noticed it I was too far past it to feel like doing it over (again). I also learned I'm not good at Rev St st in the round. Techknitter suggested doing it as St st and turning it inside out. Good idea, but I was too far to go back on that too. Next time I'll know better.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4131/4842795442_049b8df57a.jpg

suzeeq
07-30-2010, 12:26 AM
Didn't you knit it flat? Then Rev st st would just be like knitting st st except the purl rows are on the RS...

Looks good though - I should really look through Drops patterns and do more of them.

Jan in CA
07-30-2010, 12:34 AM
That's really cute! Was the button band added after then? I like EZ's method of doing buttonholes on a seamless, but knit flat pattern. You just put a buttonhole on both sides of the same row and then when you sew the button on you close the hole. If it's a regular buttonhole and not a YO you could still do the YO on the button side. They always match that way.

MerigoldinWA
07-30-2010, 01:20 AM
Sue, the sleeves were knit in the round and then the works added together to form the yoke.

MerigoldinWA
07-30-2010, 01:32 AM
Thanks. I think it is a cute pattern.

The pattern said to knit one of the button bands that is built right on, I call it a self button band. But I didn't do it that way. I like picked up bands better and did it that way.