PDA

View Full Version : FO: My very 1st project

Breezed
10-01-2010, 04:53 PM
I am a beginner knitter, learning from wonderful videos on this site and others. I had originally started a scarf from a "learn to knit" DVD but that didn't work out well. I ran out of yarn before completing it only to find out it is discontinued from my local store. The pattern I have now completed was a free card from Joann's. This was a simple knit stitch all the way through to 26", giving it a twist, and sewing the ends together. I used Lion Brand Homespun bulky yarn in Covered Bridge Red. I picked up the card in the store and my boyfriend and I both said "totally Frannie!"; his mother. So my very first project will be given to her for Xmas. I think I may add a small brooch to it, since she loves those things. I've only browsed this forum so far and this is my first post but I just love this place and everyone of you seem so helpful and nice. I am inspired by many of you to continue learning and becoming a great knitter (I hope).

kmaclean
10-01-2010, 04:59 PM
Welcome to KH!

I think you'll find that everyone here is really helpful, and it's a great place to share your knitting accomplishments.

Congrats on completing your first project ... it looks like it turned out great! :yay:

Jan in CA
10-01-2010, 05:57 PM
Welcome to Knitting Help!

That's a beautiful project and you're very brave to do your first project with Homespun.. :zombie:

Breezed
10-01-2010, 07:14 PM
Thanks, both of you. I didn't know the difference between yarns really and found this on sale at a local store. I even did two strands together for a bulkier look too!! I thought I wasn't going to be able to continue shortly after starting but figured out how to manage it somehow.

Lana
10-01-2010, 07:24 PM
Welcome to an especially nice message board.

Congratulations on a very nicely knit scarf
and your photos show it off well.

Love that bit of whimsy next to your bookcase.

Breezed
10-01-2010, 07:38 PM