PDA

View Full Version : Knitting Art....

TEMA
01-03-2011, 03:10 PM
For a long time I've been a fabric artist, making pieces for the wall out of tiny little pieces of fabric.
These days, I'm 'just' knitting because it feels good. I've been sick for a long time and my creative juices have all but dried up so knitting socks, hats and fingerless gloves seemed the best thing to do.
Now, however, I'm thinking of combining my love of patchwork and applique to the knitted stitch.
To that end, and because I've been wondering if anything like this has been tried yet, I went to the Internet to look up "knitting art".
What a surprise! There are a million or so pages of knitting art and I've been spending a lot of time just looking without any hope of seeing it all.
So here I am... I've knitted a piece of yarn fabric and now I'm embellishing it with crocheted embroidery stitches, etc .... hopefully, some words will appear....
Besides that I'm wondering what Knitting Art has been, or is being done here... would love to see any of that kind of work... maybe I can get some more ideas...
In any case, it's all new to me... :)
TEMA :knitting: :knitting:

Woodi
01-03-2011, 03:14 PM
Could you post any pics of your artwork? I'd love to see it.

TEMA
01-03-2011, 03:22 PM
Could you post any pics of your artwork? I'd love to see it.
I'm on Flickr....
www.flickr.com/photos/tema360/

Thanks,
TEMA
hmmmm.... I just realized I only have one fabric piece on there... it's the last one.

RuthieinMaryland
01-04-2011, 05:36 PM
Hi, Tema! :waving:

Your work is quite wonderful! I love to see how you're exploring in different directions with different media; that always expands the creative eye, doesn't it? :)