PDA

View Full Version : Help a newbie read a pattern diagram please :)

STHLMgreen
01-22-2011, 09:52 AM
Hi, I'm new to crochet (started in December) and wanted to make a twisted scarf/cowl. The pattern is in a picture and I really don't understand the rows or how to read it... Would anyone be willing to help or translate it into normal crochet abbreviations?

Crochet DROPS moebius in "Baby Merino" (http://www.garnstudio.com/lang/en/visoppskrift.php?d_nr=129&d_id=12&lang=en)

Thanks for the help.... I learned to knit from this site and so I thoght this would be the best place to ask. :wink:

Antares
01-22-2011, 06:30 PM
Well, for starters this pattern uses British crochet terms, which are different from American crochet terms.

You can find the conversion chart here: http://www.garnstudio.com/lang/en/includes/chart_crochetterms.php

HOWEVER (you're probably not going to want to hear this) I would highly recommend doing several patterns written in American crochet terms first; otherwise, you may royally confuse yourself and get the stitches mixed up for ever after!!

Converting this pattern would be somewhat challenging for me, and I've been crocheting for many, many years.

Have you looked for a similar pattern that's completely written out using American terminology? I'd be willing to bet that there are lots of them!

STHLMgreen
01-22-2011, 07:55 PM
I'm not really bothered by the terms as I am used to changing between languages. I learned to crochet from a friend in Swedish, a UK knitting magazine and an American crochet book. All in the same weekend. I have my cheat sheet with terms in all three and use it to get my head going in the right direction whenever I start something new.

I just don't know where to begin with the symbols. At all.

I have looked for a somewhat similar pattern and ended up making some kind of cross between the two. Kind of. I think it worked out okay.