PDA

View Full Version : General Q's about knitting socks

KatzKnitter
01-30-2011, 02:29 AM
I wear knee socks under my slacks or jeans all winter, and I'm thinking of knitting a pair, because the beefy cabled or ribbed cotton knee socks I prefer are getting harder to find.

But I've never done socks before. Does sock yarn have the same elastic thread as store-bought socks? What should I look for in a good pattern and reasonably priced yarn for a beginner?

Jan in CA
01-30-2011, 03:54 AM
I suggest before you make a pair of socks with sock yarn that you make a pair of house socks with worsted weight yarn. You can learn about sock construction and become comfortable with the technique before you start knitting with size 1 or 2 needles and thin yarn.

I learned on this pattern and it's great! It has instruction for different yarn weights. This one uses double pointed needles (DPN).
http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Start.htm

If you prefer to magic loop or use two circular needles I can find a pattern for those, too.

Beyond that..a good sock yarn should have nylon of some type in it for strength. Merino or wool is good for warmth. You can find a few sock yarn types in the craft type stores (Michaels, Joann, etc), but you can find more on in LYS (local yarn stores), but it will be more expensive. Start with the less expensive stuff then move on if you choose.

KatzKnitter
01-30-2011, 05:01 AM
:cheering: I like their closeup photos. I've never used DPN's or circular needles. Which is easier? But I can't have wool in my socks or slacks. Is there a cotton-nylon worsted you recommend for starting? Will the house socks stay up by the ribs alone?

We have at least 5 or 6 LYS's here with varying prices, as it's a large metro area. But I've also found some nice yarns at Michael's with discount coupons.

And yes, I did knit the aqua hat. Do you think it's too small? :D

cacunn
01-30-2011, 06:03 AM