PDA

View Full Version : Frusrated...

rswank
02-25-2011, 03:53 PM
I am new to knithelp, just stumbled onto this site, and havn't had a chance to get to know how things work much around here, but I am having some troubles. Every time I encounter any kind of pattern, I can understand a few lines but after that I just get completly lost. How am I ever going to get started finishing any actual projects if I can't seem to get thru reading a pattern. Its not the abbreviations, its easy enough to figure out what those mean, its just getting trampled under all the instructions. Any suggestions, maybe some good sugestions on how to somehow gradually get my feet wet, or maybe some super, super easy patterns to start with? Maybe there is an "understanding knitting patterns for dummies" book somewhere:) I'm determined to not let anything stop me from getting involved in a hobby that I love more and more, the more I learn. Any feedback, or suggestions appreciated! Thanks!

RochesterKnitter
02-25-2011, 04:43 PM
Dear RSWANK,

Please don't be discouraged. Everyone feels this way at first. You will get it over time.

May I suggest that you start by only doing one color projects. By simply working with different combinations of knit and purl you can create very different patterns. You should be very comfortable with stockinette, garter, reverse stockinette and ribbing before you move on. Then try seed or basket weave.

Next try some cables. They seem hard, but aren't. They will add interest to your work and don't require yarn/color changes. A basic scarf with a single simple repeating cable should be a very doable project.