PDA

View Full Version : Love-Hate I-Cords?

RoseFairy
04-09-2011, 11:05 PM
Hi, so I just recently learned how to do an i-cord bind off and it's like the neatest thing. So why is it that a regular i-cord gives me trouble? For one thing it gets thicker and thinner sometimes, it never seems to even out after pulling and rolling, and it seems to take forever to knit. But there's some nice things I want to do with i-cords. I seem to have a love-hate relationship with i-cords. Does anyone else have these problems?

Jan in CA
04-10-2011, 12:16 AM
I don't have any problem with them, but they are time consuming.

Sounds like your tension is uneven which will probably be better as you practice.

RoseFairy
04-10-2011, 01:05 AM
I wouldn't really consider it having a problem with them. I guess I'm not good with having even tension on the strand on back and it's kind of boring to knit an i-cord when I need a long length. My first stitch is always a bit uneven, but my other stitches are always nice. It's just that first stitch that looks odd.

ETA: If my yarn was thinner I'd use my cute little hand cranked i-cord making machine. Unfortunately the machine hates worsted weight and heavier yarns.

fatoldladyinpjs
04-10-2011, 08:20 AM
I avoid I cords like the plague.

Jan in CA
04-10-2011, 01:45 PM
I wouldn't worry about the first stitch. You can fix that with the tail. Usually the end is sewn to something or whatever anyway and it's never seen.

RoseFairy
04-10-2011, 02:35 PM
It's not just the very first stitch, I meant every first stitch to the rows/rnds are loose. I guess I should have said the first stitches? It's basically the stitches I knit after shoving the rows back over to be worked again, the ones that come after the strand of yarn is stretched across the back.

Jan in CA
04-10-2011, 03:06 PM
Oh I see. I bunch the stitches together and pull it fairly tightly across to help that.

RoseFairy
04-10-2011, 03:15 PM