PDA

View Full Version : Slippery Sock yarn

robinjoy
05-20-2011, 11:11 AM
I'm looking for suggestions on needles for very slippery sock yarn ("Supersocke Silk). My (size zero) 20 inch Addi Turbos are just too slippery. I ordered the Turbo Lace (which don't come in 20 inches) but I'm not sure I'll like the 24 inch length or if it will even have enough bite for this yarn.

I'm new to knitting but have completed two pairs of socks so far (on two size 3 and 1 circular needles ) and the yarn didn't feel anywhere near as slippery as this one. I'm having a rough time but I would like to finish the project. On this new project I'm knitting two socks at a time on two circular needles (with my other projects I only tried knitting one at a time).

I'm looking forward to all suggestions.

Jan in CA
05-20-2011, 11:40 AM
Bamboo or other wood is often used for socks because it's grippier.

robinjoy
05-21-2011, 08:41 AM
Bamboo or other wood is often used for socks because it's grippier.

Thanks so much for your suggestion...I just ordered the knitpick harmony needles. Unfortunately, the only experience I've had with bamboo was an awful Clover circular with bumps on the cable that continually snagged my yarn. I wonder if I might like the Addi Bamboo circulars better. Does anyone have any thoughts on comparing the two (Addi Bamboo verses Knitpick wood for socks)....or even another brand of needles that might have a little bite?

The bad news is I lost all the stitches on one of the socks I was working on....the needle slipped out of half the stitches when I went to store it. Yep, *hangs head in shame* I got upset and decided to rip all the stitches out...it was just too difficult a job to pick them all up and figure out what row I was on. I decided to try working that slippery yarn at a later date when I have the proper equipment.