PDA

View Full Version : how do i knitt this @_@ there's no directions

HatsuneMiku
08-14-2011, 04:23 PM
hi everyone,

i'm new here .. and i'm new to knitting .. I really want to make this scarf .. but it didn't have any directions on it other then it's a double knitted scarf .. and then all it gave me was this chart .. that i have no idea how to read .. T_T

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B_OFt4rRZf6VYjJlM2EzNDYtZGZlMi00NTQ1LWI5MDQ tNjgyYzlhZDZmNjIy&hl=en_US&authkey=CJ6vx78C

thanks in advance ^_^

-Miku

blueygh2
08-14-2011, 04:37 PM
Oh that's quite some work you got there.
I'd rather not double knit it if you're a beginner. Double knitting could complicate this. Instead, knit it twice and seam together.

Every square of that chart is a stitch, and you knit every stitch, and when you hit a blue square, change color. The white squares are the primary color, the blue ones the second color.

Read the chart from right to left, starting at the bottom (the last chart).

If you were to doubleknit it, you'd change the primary and secondary thread each time the color of the square changes.
When turning the work over (starting a new row), you have to "invert" the colors of the chart for that row. (You'll see a white square, but you should knit it with the second color).
If doing so, always read from right to left.

So that makes every second row an "inverted" row.

If you simple-knit it, you read the chart from right to left, the next row left to right, then again right to left, then left to right, and so on, and the "left to right" rows are purled instead of knit. (At least I think so, I'm not entirely sure)

HatsuneMiku
08-14-2011, 04:53 PM
this is actually the 2nd time i'm working on a double knit project and i don't want to make the scarf square ..

the pattern is from here .. and on the picture it has the scarf just from the border .. so how would i start it .. and be able to have that space between the corner of the stars ?