PDA

View Full Version : Knitting Knoob

shortybiscuit
09-21-2011, 11:09 AM
Hi all. I'm new to knitting and I'd like some advice. I'm looking for needles and their are so many types. I'd like to get all the sizes in one kit. I've seen a complete set in bamboo, however I currently own a few metal needles. Are the bamboo needles good? Also, I see some needles are circular. What is the benefit to those? Are there any other items I would need to build a comprehensive kit?

hyperactive
09-21-2011, 11:36 AM
Hi!
If you are really new to knitting, you should start getting needles with the projects you tackle. If you get a different type a few times, you will know if you like them.

We all have our favorites. I mostly love metal needles (partially they are hollow ones to save weight), but I do have wooden ones and bamboo that are great, too. I do not fancy plastic / acrylic needles. My personal taste.

I love circular needles. I do not own straight needles (those that come to an end) other than the ones I inherited from my grandmother lately. I do have double pointed needles, though.

The uses: You can do pretty much anything you can do with straight needles (I have not really seen any purose that will not work out.)
In addition IF the diameter is right you can knit tubluar things like cowls, hats and so on on circulars. But the diametre has to fit. There are lots of different ones, and lots of projects so that is a funny puzzle.
You can use rather long circulars for magic loop or single loop ( other techniques for working in the round when the diametre does not fit)

Double pointed needles are used to work in the round (like socks, hats and such) and you use sets of 4 or 5 (customary to certain regions) to form the circle with all but one of them and use the remaining one as working needle.

You can tell, I love my circs :o)

Other knitters will tell you other stuff. Everybody has their opinion.