PDA

View Full Version : Knitting Stitches won't slide off needles.

Northwoodslady
12-01-2011, 12:31 PM
Hello....I'm new to knitting. I'm having trouble getting my stitches to move freely on the needles. I'm using alum. size 8 needles to try to make a scarf. When I cast on, the stitches slide up and down the needle however, once I start the knit stitch, I keep fighting the stitches to fall off the other needle. This makes the experience not as enjoyable and will take forever to finish a project. Is my gauge still to tight? Thank you all for the feedback.

suzeeq
12-01-2011, 12:46 PM
You're probably pulling on the yarn after you make each stitch because of the feeling that they're going to come off the needle and therefore they end up too tight. So don't pull the yarn tight, loosen up your grip on both the needles and yarn, and don't worry about the sts falling off, they probably won't. If one does, put it back on the needle.

ChatyKathy
12-01-2011, 01:24 PM
I agree you dont want to strangle your yarn...Take a deep breath and relax this is supposed to be relaxing. I did the same thing when I first got started and even did it crocheting...Let up on the yarn and let it slide you will see they wont fall off and will make it so much more enjoyable..we are here for you!

Jan in CA
12-01-2011, 02:21 PM
Knitting too tightly is common at first. Practice knitting more loosely as Sue suggests and everything will be easier and your tension will get more even.

suzeeq
12-01-2011, 03:27 PM
It occurred to me that maybe you need to try a different method of cast on if it's that loose which may be why you're overcompensating by trying to knit the rows tighter. Backward loop/thumb loop is one that many new knitters use because it's easy, but it can be very loose. A knit cast on is loose, though not as much, and the edge is sturdier. Cable cast on is very stable and the sts are not so loose. Try another one or two and see if that makes it easier for you to work the next row.