PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite Needles and Why.

purpleldy1
10-06-2012, 08:06 PM
As a newbie. I bought a bulk set of various styles of needles on Ebay. It consists of mostly metal. I like how easily the yarn glides on and off of the metal needles but as a newbie I find it frustrating with the DpN. I have one set of circulars in a plastic material but they stitches don't flow as well, but I do like knitting without the needles catching on my sleeves, chair arms and anything else to the side of me. I haven't tried wood or bamboo and I don't know what brands they are except the DpN are Aero. What Needles are your favorite, and Why? Should I buy a sampler set? Help a Newbie out.

GrumpyGramma
10-06-2012, 09:12 PM
I like the interchangeable sets from Knit Picks http://www.knitpicks.com/needles/Knitting_Needle_Sets__L300301.html and WEBS http://www.yarn.com/webs-knitting-needles-knitters-pride-interchangeable-circular/. Both offer sampler sets that include tips of the various materials. Right now I'm trying to convince myself I can afford to order a set of the wood interchangeables. I like the way the wood feels but mainly the points seem sharper on them than on the metal ones; otherwise I like them both. I don't like acrylic.

Jan in CA
10-06-2012, 11:25 PM
Best thing is type in interchangeable needles in the KH search box. There are already a ton of threads.

You'll find some interchangeables have a much better cable than others. The sample set is a good idea.

Knitpicks - i have a couple sets of nickel plated Options that I love. Have also used the wood Harmony and those are nice, too. Affordable.

Addi Turbo- I have several pairs of these and like them a lot. Expensive.

Denise- nice set, but I personally don't care for plastic and don't like the cable. Lots of people love them though. Affordable.

Hiya Hiya - haven't used them, but have friends who live them. Don't know the price point.

salmonmac
10-07-2012, 02:47 AM