PDA

View Full Version : Etsy?

LoveBugAngel
11-21-2012, 08:07 PM
Just wondering if any of you have ever sold anything on Etsy? I'm curious how it works. I have some ladies at work telling me I should put stuff up on Etsy. One of the main questions I have after looking around the site is you have to list a shipping price, well if the person lives in your city do they have to pay the shipping price if they buy it online, like does the shipping automatically get added to the total?

I'd love to take a look at your etsy shops if you have one. Tell me what you think of the site ups and downs?

LoveBugAngel
11-23-2012, 12:24 PM
hmmm maybe Etsy is a no no topic on here. Woopsy.

salmonmac
11-23-2012, 12:52 PM
No, not at all. I think you're just in the post-Thanksgiving (Black Friday?) lull. I have no experience with Etsy but I could never charge enough for a hand knit to make it worth my time.

Jan in CA
11-23-2012, 02:30 PM
Yeah, no problem with discussing it. You just have to be patient sometimes especially over the holidays.

I don't know how anyone makes money selling their knitting there. Or anywhere. Between the yarn and time involved to make a project worth selling the price would be pretty high wouldn't it? I'd ask those women at work what they'd be willing to pay for various things. Then figure out how many skeins of yarn you'd need and how long it would take you to complete it and calculate the price. See if its worth it.

Anyway, the site itself should have info on what Etsy's cut is so you can price your item accordingly.

LoveBugAngel
11-23-2012, 07:42 PM