PDA

View Full Version : Need some tips for stitch uniformity

dudeKnit
01-08-2013, 12:40 PM
Hello all, I'm new to knitting, in fact just started Friday past.

I'm trying to make myself a scarf to keep myself warm when I'm out enjoying my favorite hobby of flying my model aircraft. I'm using #4 needles and a simple garter stitch for the project. I'm planning on blocking it when done. I've restarted the project several times since Friday and am getting a bit miffed.

Last night I decided it was too wide and decided to start over, which was a good idea. I took what I had learned the other 4 times I started over and doing my cast on row it came out the best yet. The second row was a bit of a nuisance. I am having trouble with my stitches not being uniform. I will get to a point where some of the stitches are tight and too close together and at other points they feel a bit loser and are much easier to work with.

Does anyone have any tips on keeping stitches uniform in size?

So far I have enjoyed learning, and am finding it somewhat relaxing when not frustrated by missing a stitch or losing one.

Forgot to mention I'm using a worsted weight yarn. In case you need to know that.

suzeeq
01-08-2013, 12:54 PM
Just keep practicing. Size 4s (or 4mm) are pretty small unless you're using a very thin yarn and will make a very dense and tight knit with the worsted. If you can try using a size 9 or 10 needle and it may be easier to make the sts more even and not miss a stitch as the stitches will be larger and easier to see. I think that will help quite a lot.

mojo11
01-08-2013, 01:55 PM
A lot of the non-uniformity will come out in blocking. If you're using an acrylic yarn, once you've tossed it in the laundry and washed it once you'll be amazed at how much more uniform it looks. If it's wool or something else that has to be hand washed, it's a little trickier.