PDA

View Full Version : Staying Organized

Jinxie
01-13-2013, 06:24 PM
I did a search before starting this post, so forgive me if this has already been discussed.

I've been knitting for over three years, and realized just today that I've got WAY too much. There's just so much of it, it's hard to keep it all in one place.

A while ago, I picked up an Artbin Hook & Needle Case (http://www.joann.com/artbin-hook-needle-case/prd20758/), which has worked excellently until recently. Now there are just too many needles to fit. Come tax time, I'll be picking up a set of KnitPicks interchangeables, but I don't think I'd want to just throw away the fixed circs I've got...

I have an entire picnic basket full of yarn, not including whatever's on needles at the moment, and it's a pain to dig through it whenever I want to start something new. The same goes for the nest of circulars in zip-lock bags. Next week, I'll be picking up a closet-bar shoe organizer to stuff all the skeins of yarn into; I'm sure that'll be a huge help.

Anyway, how do YOU stay organized?

GrumpyGramma
01-13-2013, 07:44 PM
You have one picnic basket full of yarn? Just one? :shock: I've acquired at least that much this year. :zombie: Sorry, I'm afraid I can't help, it's not in my DNA to be organized. Seriously, I am trying to get organized, just haven't made it yet. I read threads about being organized in hope that somehow, someway, something will take root and I'll actually get there. :pray:

Jan in CA
01-13-2013, 09:29 PM
Whoa... Only one picnic basket? Just how big is the basket?? I have a glass fronted cupboard and one closed cabinet I keep some in, a rolling cart and multiple bags for the rest. I do need like it organized so I need to start working...

My needles (all circs) go in an interchangeable needle case. My other knitting supplies are in a zipped bag in my main knitting bag.

Lizars1735
01-14-2013, 12:17 AM