PDA

View Full Version : BabyDrops 14-28

jds87
01-23-2013, 06:01 PM
Has anyone done this pattern?
I'm trying to make it for my son, who's one and I'm using a US4 3.5mm circ needle and 2 rolls of Lionbrand fishermans wool. The gauge swatch came out about 2.5" smaller than it should be, but I suppose that's okay, I can just make him a bigger size.

Joining the CO was difficult for me and I messed up the first try so not I'm working on it again. Are there any tips to joining so that I don't twist it again. I can't find anything on it online so I'd appreciate any help or advice on it.

I've been knitting for about 4 years but I'm not that good at all, I'm better at crocheting...

I'd add the link to it, but I don't have enough posts yet :(

suzeeq
01-23-2013, 06:27 PM
It would be better to use a larger needle because the yarn is a worsted and you'd normally use a size 7 or 8 with that yarn. That may get your swatch larger - if you were aiming for a 4" one and it's 1" instead, that's way way way too small. Even if you make a bigger size, the item will be too stiff and densely knit. Using a larger needle, CO about 6 sts more than the gauge says for 4" and then don't include the edge stitches when you measure it.

I found this link (http://www.garnstudio.com/lang/en/pattern.php?id=2216&lang=en) to the pattern, it even says to use a size 7. Cute hat!

jds87
01-23-2013, 06:37 PM
The circ needles I have are the US4, US10 and another larger one that I can't find. I've been trying to knit loose so that it's not so stiff, which was helping. I don't know why I put 2.5" smaller of a gauge swatch, it's only .5" smaller... I wish I could get a whole assortment of needles in different sizes but I can only work with what I have now....

salmonmac
01-23-2013, 06:39 PM