PDA

View Full Version : help with needle sizes

ohiogirl527
02-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Hello everyone. I have a question to ask. I'm very new to knitting. In fact I have never picked up a pair of knitting needles before and today I have decided to start knitting and I'm curious as to what size needle I should use. A friend of mine said bamboo with the cord should be easy to start with. But I'm not sure. I found a pair of bamboo ones that are 60" size 10 6.5 mm but I'm not sure if that's what I want. Any advice would be great. Thank you for reading.

GrumpyGramma
02-11-2013, 07:11 PM
Hi. Welcome to the world of knitting and Knitting Help! You're starting with a circular needle, that's great. You can use it to knit back and forth for flat and then you can use it to knit in the round and make tubes which are very useful for many things. Bamboo would be good to start with, people who teach have said it helps you get off to a good start. I think the 60" might be longer than you want for a first needle. Are you buying at a local store or on line? The options you have available might be different depending on where you're buying. Oh, yes, we always want more info so we can help you the best we're able.

ohiogirl527
02-11-2013, 07:17 PM
I'm going to buy them online. I'm a broke college student and I'm on a budget. I found them on a site called listia. I crochet also and I love that I just feel I should try to do something different. I just want to learn how to do a basic knitting.

GrumpyGramma
02-11-2013, 07:22 PM