PDA

View Full Version : picking up stitches to make a domino pattern


wildandwooly
01-12-2005, 03:06 AM
I'm experimenting with domino or modular knitting, making a triangle and then picking up stitches along one of the sides and making another triangle, etc. The pattern instructions say that number of stitiches to pick up is the same as the number of rows I knitted (stockinette) and I am having trouble picking up that many stitches. The edge stitches aren't all loose enough to get a needle or even a crochet hook into them. I tried using the technique of slipping the first stitch of each row, which gives me more room and a nice chain selvedge, but only works if I pick up a stitch every other row. This pattern requires a stitch every row. Any suggedetions? Is there a way to use the chain selvedge and cast on extra stitches in between the ones I pick up? Thanks!

Marnie
01-15-2005, 05:20 PM
I think your best bet is to find a smaller crochet hook to help you ease the yarn into the stitches. There really isn't a trick that will help you if your edge stitches are too tight. Another option is to work your domino knits are slightly larger needles so that the edges are a little looser.

Slipping the first stitch will only give you half the number of loops on each edge. This doesn't work well as it leaves gaps when you try to pickup stitches right along the edge. If this is the only way you can get a needle into the edge, you could pickup stitches as though you were knitting through the front and back loop of a stitch. It won't look as nice but it will allow you to pick up 2 stitches for every edge stitch.

Good luck,
~m

wildandwooly
01-16-2005, 10:39 PM
Thaks, Marnie! Waht i ended up doing is creating the chain selvedge and then picking up a stitch through the back loop of the chain and then one through the front loop of the chain,. It looks good and it is a lot easier than fighting with the tight stitches or using a crochet hook.