PDA

View Full Version : Scarf help!

jkik2478
02-21-2005, 01:03 PM
Hi,

I'm a beginner and I have a questions about knitting a scarf. I want to have "V" design on both sides of the scarf. How can I do this?

Thanks!

ekgheiy
02-21-2005, 01:14 PM
What do you mean by "V"? Stockinette by chance?

If so, then you could make your scarf double the desired width and then fold it and seam up the sides, top, and bottom.

Or you could knit it in the round and seam the top and bottom.

Hope that helps!

amy
02-21-2005, 01:15 PM
Only with Double Knitting, which I wouldn't recommend if this is one of your first projects. You could also do circular knitting, but it would create a hollow tube, not a single flat piece.

An alternative might be to work it in k1, p1 ribbing. It contracts to look basically like V's on both sides. Use needles that are 2 sizes smaller than recommended for your yarn, when working ribbing.

FYI, all of these techniques will require twice as much knitting to get the same size scarf as one knit in garter stitch or seed stitch. ...and remember to avoid doing your scarf in stockinette stitch, because it will curl.

Hope that helps!
Amy

jkik2478
02-21-2005, 02:14 PM
Hi,

By "V" I mean that each individual stitch looks like a "V" (not a 'V' pattern).

Thanks!

jkik2478
02-21-2005, 02:25 PM
Hi,

One more (dumb) question. When you say K1, P1 - does that mean Knit one row, then Purl one row. Or does it mean knit one stitch, and purl one stitch?

Thanks

ekgheiy
02-21-2005, 02:29 PM
Hi,

One more (dumb) question. When you say K1, P1 - does that mean Knit one row, then Purl one row. Or does it mean knit one stitch, and purl one stitch?

Thanks

I think she means K1 stitch, P1 stitch ;)

But I could be wrong ....

Anne
02-21-2005, 02:37 PM
Hi, There is no such thing as a dumb question. If you don't know then ask that's how we learn.

When i started to knit i ask the same question that you ask and a lot more.