PDA

View Full Version : I'm a beginner

aknittingmom
02-25-2005, 11:25 PM
Hello

I have learned the basic knitting stich. I did make a scarf. I am happy with the results, however it isn't long enough. I used a big needle because I like thick yarn and a chunky stitch. my question is how do i continue adding in a new ball of yarn?

I also want to make an afghan. I don't understand how you would cast on more stiches than fit on the kneedle to make an afghan. I know these are silly questions....Should I pick up a book with patterns?

thanks in advance :?

carollovesyarn
02-26-2005, 02:05 AM
Welcome!

No questions are silly! We all wonder most of them at some point...

To join a new ball to your knitting, check out Amy's video on this page: http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/basic_techniques/misc.php.

To knit an afghan, you do need needles as wide as the project, though they can probably be a little shorter - someone correct me if I'm wrong here. You can use long circular needles (knitting flat of course) or you could use 'flex' needles, which are a set of two regular needles with cables that have ends on each (yes, that was clear wasn't it? :? ) If you only have or want to use regular needles, then you could make squares and attach them together to make the larger afghan. A fellow SnB'er of mine, refuses to knit afghans - she swears crocheting is much faster! YMMV

As far as buying a book, it's fun to have one to refer to, but there are tons of free patterns on the internet. Search around and check it out.

Carol

Contiknitter Kelly
02-26-2005, 11:34 AM
Hi aknittingmom,

You've come to the right place to learn how to knit that's for sure. :wink:

I'm a beginner also and have had to ask ?'s that I did'nt want to too. :oops:
But no1 here will give you a hard time about it, just the answer :D
and since i'm only on my 2nd project, i'm glad there's people asking ?'s about stuff I have no idea about myself.

See ya around the room!
Kelly

yellowness
02-26-2005, 05:08 PM