PDA

View Full Version : What the heck?

Yvonne
03-14-2005, 01:47 PM
I bought one lonely skein of Lion Brand Microspun to see if I liked it. I made a stockinette swatch with it, and a weird thing is happening. On every stitch, the left side of the "V" is totally vertical while the right side of the "V" is.......well, V-shaped like it ought to be. I don't get it. It's happening on both the knit rows and the purl rows, it doesn't seem to matter.
I've been knitting for over 30 years and this has never happened before. Has anybody else tried this yarn and gotten similar results? What causes it?

ekgheiy
03-14-2005, 01:56 PM
:?? :??
Got me ...
I've never worked with it.

beldaraan
03-14-2005, 02:58 PM
This was a question that I was going to ask!!!! I've seen this in knitting before. I also have microspun. I will find some pics. BRB!!!

beldaraan
03-14-2005, 03:09 PM
Ok, here is a practice swatch in stockinette. I've seen this on other knitted projects. You can see it on page 51 in Stitch 'N Bitch as an example.

Sara
03-14-2005, 03:55 PM
That is exactly what I was posting for help with a few days ago. I just couldn't get a picture posted to show it. My first project (in 2003) was microspun and it did EXACTLY what Beldie's pic shows! :doh: I'm not alone! Unfortunately, I'm seeing this twist in other things I've done. It isn't as noticeable with heavier yarn, but my merino sock yarn has a vicious little twist in it, too. My LYS says that my knitting technique is great, she thought maybe it's a question of tension. Yvonne, can you do a test to see if you do this with other yarn? I would really like to know what the heck is happening with my yarn. It occurs in both English and Continental. I think I'm going to call the Schoolhouse Press people and ask for help. (Elizabeth Zimmermann's posse) It will take me a couple days to get to this, but I'll let you know what I find out. UNbelievable! This forum is GREAT! :cheering:

Kiri
03-14-2005, 04:03 PM