PDA

View Full Version : if you could buy any, which needles would you buy?

kemp
03-30-2005, 12:09 PM
Hi all,

As a beginner I am wondering what kind of needles I should buy. I am into quality over quantity and anything that would make knitting go smoother would be great. The first needles I bought were bamboo and they were ok, but I think maybe they are better suited to a different yarn. I also have plastic circular that I am using as regular needles (no join)...I read that as a tip somewhere, but I am not sure I agree. It seems a little cumbersome and also the transition from the join part to the needle catches. Any opinion on that?

kimmie
03-30-2005, 12:28 PM
So much of it is just personal preference. I have so many different kinds of needles. My all-around most used and loved are my Denise Interchangeable needles. I have some Addy Turbo Circulars in the sizes smaller than my Denise set has & I love those too. I am a big fan of Clover bamboo double points for projects that call for those. I own a set of the Boye interchangeable needles now, due to a 50% off coupon at Michaels, but I've never even opened the package.
kimmie

kemp
03-30-2005, 12:55 PM
Seems like the interchangeable needles are a pretty good idea...initally expensive but then you are set! Do yours seem to catch where the needle and cord join?

KellyK
03-30-2005, 01:26 PM
I love my denise's, and they dont catch.

ekgheiy
03-30-2005, 01:36 PM
Hi all,

As a beginner I am wondering what kind of needles I should buy. I am into quality over quantity and anything that would make knitting go smoother would be great. The first needles I bought were bamboo and they were ok, but I think maybe they are better suited to a different yarn. I also have plastic circular that I am using as regular needles (no join)...I read that as a tip somewhere, but I am not sure I agree. It seems a little cumbersome and also the transition from the join part to the needle catches. Any opinion on that?