PDA

View Full Version : Webcam...

Joel
04-29-2005, 07:10 PM
Hey everyone,

I got thinking about chat and the people on here. How many of you have and would use a webcam to chat with others on this forum? Part of my reason for asking is, these videos are really great and the rhymes definately help, but for newbies like myself being able to watch more experienced knitters, let them see what I'm doing, and have them be able to correct it on the spot seems like it would be valuable. If you have Yahoo, AIM, or MSN, all three of these messenger programs allow a person to do web chat and audio chat.

My neighbor (the one who taught my wife crochet) knows enough about knitting to get me started, but for example, I studied the continental video and think I understand how to do it, but she's never done that so she won't know if I'm doing it correctly. Being able to utilize a webcam and people on this site who do know and could provide instant feedback would be valuable.

Just a thought and a question.... :figureditout:

Sara
04-29-2005, 08:34 PM
That could be interesting to post as a part of people's profile, that they have that option available. You could agree to a webcam session in the chat room, I suppose? Amy will consider it, I'm sure.

I don't have one, though.

amy
04-29-2005, 09:41 PM
That's an interesting idea, Joel! It would be quite cool if it worked well.

I've never done a webcam chat. So it's both video and audio, and it's smooth, not choppy, if you have a cable connection? Is the video quality good enough to see stitches up close?

How do the systems work, are they hard? Can people with Yahoo talk to folks with MSN, etc., or do you need to be on the same system?

You've piqued my curiousity.

Amy

Jivewhistle
04-29-2005, 10:04 PM