PDA

View Full Version : Your FAVORITE knitting book ~~ please share

knitqueen
05-03-2005, 01:30 PM
So Mother's Day is fast approaching and I've been dropping hints left right and center......my dh isn't the keenest when it comes to these kinds of things so I need to be blunt!! :lol: So I've suggested things like house plants, Starbucks coffee mugs, etc., then I got to thinking "Hmmmmmm, what knitting book would I REALLY like that I wouldn't justify buying for myself????" So I thought I'd ask you ladies! I'm a beginner/intermediate knitter and I like modern/hip/(yet not too weird) patterns. Not necessarily clothing, I like accessory type things, bags, hats, etc., and I have two young children that I like to knit for. I've looked into books like The Yarn Girls' Guide to Simple Knits, Stitch 'n Bitch (the first one or Nation), and The Knitter's Handy Book of Patterns, but I haven't personally seen any of them (just looked on-line) and I don't want to ask for something that I won't use.

Looking for any and all suggestions!!

:XX:

benniesma
05-03-2005, 02:01 PM
I have the Yarn Girls Guide. I like it, there are a few sweater patterns that I know I'll try and actually wear! gasp! But, they only use chunky yarn, so it's a little limiting that way. And most patterns call for knitting with 2 strands. I think that can be a little expensive after awhile!

Let us know what book you do get. I need to expand my knitting library too!

brookenic
05-03-2005, 02:50 PM
I love The Knitters' Bible. There are simple patterns and more challenging ones when you get to that. It has a st. library and lots of great info about Knitting. I love mine, well the library's copy for now. I'll get around to buying it one day. :D

knitqueen
05-03-2005, 03:11 PM
Well who would have ever thought of the library?? :doh: I didn't until I read your post -- I just requested 5 knitting books from our public library. YAY!!

:XX:

Silver
05-03-2005, 03:16 PM