PDA

View Full Version : What do you consider to be fast knitting?

Joel
05-09-2005, 02:44 PM
So,

I should probably list this as a poll type question... but I havent a clue what to make as the options. :D

What do you consider...
Fast knitting?
Average speed?
Slow?
Catatonic? (j/k)

How long should it take a person to get to each of the levels?

I realize i'm still a newbie to knitting and only know how to do basic knitting and it's taking me about 10 minutes to knit 52 stitches. I'm just curious what I need to be aiming for (besides quality, eveness, etc).

brendajos
05-09-2005, 02:53 PM
hmm...i think i am a fairly slow knitter but i think it also depends on the project. it is taking me forever to make any headway on the blankets i am making but it is because they are sooooooo boring to do. scarves and things i do somewhat quickly (though it still takes me a week or so to do them because of the amount of time i have to knit) i don't know...i just don't worry about it too much because i am in no hurry to get anything done...*shrug*

HeatherFeather
05-09-2005, 03:32 PM
speed can be a frustrating thing....but at this point I would just focus on the mechanics of it all. If you are a tight knitter still...that will hamper your speed somewhat. But really focus on the technique, and the speed will come!!!

kimmie
05-09-2005, 03:50 PM
I don't know if I am a fast knitter or a slow knitter. I just enjoy the process, so speed doesn't matter to me much one way or the other.
kimmie

KellyK
05-09-2005, 04:06 PM
Joel, I think you should be aiming to learn skills WELL and at your own pace. I know men tend to be more result-driven, but DONT put that kind of pressure on yourself!! If you are enjoying your knitting and are having fun learning new skills, or perfecting the ones you already have, then you are doing JUST FINE.

Joel
05-09-2005, 05:03 PM