PDA

View Full Version : Gouged by gauge!


gardenia
05-14-2005, 12:00 AM
It was bound to happen. I did my swatch, but somehow my gauge changed. I'm working on my summer tank. It is knit in the round, from the bottom up. I got all the way up to the bottom of the arms and it is TOO BIG. :help: I never checked to make sure my gauge was OK once I started. I tried it on today and it is too big. Not horribly, but I don't know if I would wear it the way it is. So, I think I'll have to bite the bullet and frog the whole thing.

:frog:

yellowness
05-14-2005, 12:07 AM
Doh!

nanettecelina
05-14-2005, 07:40 AM
I made this mistake once myself. I didn't realize that my guage changed drastically if I was knitting in the round then if I was knitting a flat swatch.

BTW, nice cockatiel! My daughter is a breeder, what wonderful pets!

kemp
05-14-2005, 09:15 AM
It was bound to happen. I did my swatch, but somehow my gauge changed. I'm working on my summer tank. It is knit in the round, from the bottom up. I got all the way up to the bottom of the arms and it is TOO BIG. :help: I never checked to make sure my gauge was OK once I started. I tried it on today and it is too big. Not horribly, but I don't know if I would wear it the way it is. So, I think I'll have to bite the bullet and frog the whole thing.

:frog:

Say it isn't so :frog: hate that!

This just happened to me too on the "tempting" sweater from knitty.com my long time knitting MIL said she doesn't even put too much stock in swatches any more that it is always kind of a suprise if it fits...I think that is a little overboard, but kind of true. She also said you can get thin elastic that can be woven through the garment to help with fit post knitting. I haven't looked yet, but I am certainly going to give this a try. Fortunately for me, mine isn't so big that I would frog it.