PDA

View Full Version : Knitting for Dummies

Stonington
05-19-2005, 01:44 PM
Hi all.... has anyone bought this book? I have a few of the "Dummie" Books.. mostly for computer programs....and they seem to help in a humorous way lol. I would love to have something with the basics... Suggestions? Thanks! anne :study:

rebecca
05-19-2005, 04:00 PM
I've been knitting for almost a year (my knitting anniversary is next month) and Knitting for Dummies was the 1st book that I bought. I'm self-taught and I would guess I'm at about the intermediate level of knitting and I will truthfully say that it has been very helpful! Of course, I'm as addicted to buying knitting books as I am to knitting, therefore my knitting 'library' has expanded to around 30 books in all...they are hard to turn away from....such fun... :cheering: :cheering:
All kidding aside...Knitting for Dummies is very well worth the $, very full of beginning skills and on from there

gardenia
05-19-2005, 05:52 PM
That was one of the first knitting books I bought, and I learned a lot from it, too. I think it is definitely worth it. I am mostly self taught.

Happy shopping. :happydance:

foldedbird
05-19-2005, 06:47 PM
I have this book too, and I love it. I still refer to it often. It has a pretty good stitch library, too, and lots of information on how to design things on your own.

If I had to put a finger on a flaw, it would be that there are few projects...BUT the projects do have many variations, and I think the well-rounded instruction is more important than projects.

Denise

hedgehog
05-19-2005, 07:08 PM
Hiya...

I too am pretty much book taught and hitting my 1 year anniversary this month (although i didn't tackle anything serious until February of this year).