PDA

View Full Version : Worsted Wool?

Kilgore_Trout
05-28-2005, 09:43 AM
Ok so I have a pattern that calls for worsted wool weight yarn, and size 13 needles, and you're supposed to use 2 strands at once. The problem is that I can only find worsted wool thats thin (like normal yarn thin) and the result I get is very "fishnet like". Extremely loose! Are there thicker yarns that I should be using? The pattern does call for felting at the end, which I've never done before. Does felting get rid of this fish net looseness? Help! :??

kimmie
05-28-2005, 09:45 AM
Sorry, I'm not answering your post, but all I could think of was "fishnet" and "trout" and my mind couldn't get back to the real question...
kimmie

Kilgore_Trout
05-28-2005, 09:49 AM
Kimmie, yeah that lands me pretty close to the PETA discussion!

Mer
05-28-2005, 09:54 AM
When you felt it, it will pull together quite a bit and fill in all the holes. You can always knit up a little swatch using the 2 strands of the yarn with the size 13 needles and try felting that to make sure that it looks the way you'd like!

rebecca
05-28-2005, 04:31 PM
as u 'felt' the wool will shrink...have u ever had a favorite sweater or something & put it in the washing machine when the washing directions said hand wash only?....the result...your garment becomes much smaller and looks rather like 'felt' as we know it....this is what u r going to be doing in your project, just on purpose. it's an excellent idea to do just as mer said and knit up a swatch with the 2 strands held together as directions say, on your size 13 needs....bind off and felt away. remember, when u r felting and yhour washing machine reaches the agitation phase, check periodically to see if your item has felted and/or shrunk to your satisfaction....sometimes it will not take the entire agitation phase of the washer....sometimes it takes doing it more than once....any help...or did i just confuse u?!

jodstr2
05-28-2005, 04:37 PM