PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...screaming

hellokitty
06-21-2005, 02:28 AM
I am very new at this :XX: and not very crafty.. :doh: ..I can cast on but that is it. When I try for the next step I fail everytime. I think if I can get past this I can move on...I have big dreams of making sweaters one day but would be happy with a small anything...no just three rows would be great. My family is laughin :roflhard: at me and I am about to cry. Please help.

Also, does the size of the needles make a difference for newbies. How about a particular brand that may help.

Oh yeah! or do you think I should just give up and go to the mall and by a sweater. :shock: :blush:

KellyK
06-21-2005, 07:45 AM
AWW! Dont cry! :heart: *gives Hellokitty a big hug* :heart:

First, you may want to try needles that aren't "slippy"....try wood.

I knit MY first projects on big fat needles with big fat yarn. But, Ive heard others say that REGULAR-sized needles and worsted weight yarn are best for beginners.

I dont think there is any absolute answer, except for patience. Watch Amy's videos over and over and over....take things slow. Instead of concentrating on the finished project, try to concentrate on the "anatomy" of each stitch. Once you learn what's NOT going right for you, things will "click" into place...

Im sending SERENE vibes your way!! :happydance:

Ingrid
06-21-2005, 07:52 AM
I'm teaching someone to knit right now. We've pulled off the glue gun, got the crochet hook unhooked from her hair--you get the picture. I gave her some bulky yarn and size 10 needles and she can see her stitches well. Is there anyone who can sit down and show you how to knit and purl. Some people are just plain visual learners and can't "get" it from books. Like Kelly said, look at the videos, find a good beginners book, and don't expect a sweater right away. Start small, or rather, easy. A bookmark, a scarf, a swatch. Hang in there. you can do it.

brendajos
06-21-2005, 08:11 AM