PDA

View Full Version : Celtic Cables?

Nuno930
06-28-2005, 09:57 AM
Ummmm, are these hard? I know it is all relative... but consider I am an advance beginner to intermediate knitter and I've never done a cable. Am I insane to try these? I mean I would at least try a normal cable first...

http://www.girlfromauntie.com/patterns/celtic/simpleceltic.php

Ingrid
06-28-2005, 10:25 AM
I did a pillow with a Celtic knot cable on it (wanted to do the knot, not the whole sweater). The chart was a little different, because there are spaces where there are no stitches. I've trained myself to follow directions blindly and it came out really nice. Reading a cable chart for the first time can be difficult, though. It helps to have some experience with cables so you can look at the symbol and know what they mean rather than having to look at the explanations every time. On the other hand, what have you got to lose?

brendajos
06-28-2005, 10:47 AM
:shock: umm...your mind? that chart scares me!

Silver
06-28-2005, 10:52 AM
Cables are so easy. They're the easiest thing you can do to make your knitting look complicated. But shhh! Don't tell anyone! ;)

Hildegard_von_Knittin
06-28-2005, 11:42 AM
Nuno, you can do it! Just practice on something that isn't a sweater or "important" project first. Pick some yucky yarn in your stash that you klnow you're not going to use and just dive in. That chart DOES look scary :shock: but I think if you just sit down and do it, it will turn out fine. Print out the chart and use a highlighter, that's what I'd do. I learned cables from stitch and bitch, and silver is right: they are SO easy, and people are always impressed by them becasue they look complicated! Once you do one you'll be mad that you didn't try it before.