PDA

View Full Version : Hi!

Jaxhil
10-11-2005, 05:06 PM
Hello, my name is Hilary-I have been knitting sporadically for a few years. I learned about 5 or 6 years ago but didn't keep it up. I taught myself the Continental style knitting from the book "Knitting in Plain English" by Maggie Righetti. It looked like less effort than English style, and I was afraid to let go of the needles for even long enough to throw my yarn over, lol!

My first "big" project (not including a few dishclothes and baby booties), started at least 5 years ago, and quite possibly more, was just finished a couple weeks ago. Its a plain old vest with garter stitch borders and stockinette stitch everywhere else. Not terribly attractive, and its way too big too-but I was so proud that I actually finished it! I love the yarn color though so I may rip it out and redo it. Someday. ;)

I am so happy to have found this site, what an incredible learning source Amy's videos are!! Thank you for them, they are wonderful!! Not to mention so many great knitters-seeing y'all's projects is a great motivator!

I am really enjoying seeing what everyone's making. I am a sewer also and I can't wait to make my own knitting needle cases. I am currently working on a sweater for my two yr old daughter, Grace. Its the baby sweater from "Last Minute Knitted Gifts". I'm using a pretty lavendar baby yarn from my LYS and its making such a soft fabric :D I want to knit my DH a sweater too, but I thought I'd start small, LOL!

I already have a very bad yarn addiction...and this in addition to a *truly* massive fabric stash :rollseyes: I'm in big trouble :D but I love it!! I (not so) secretly wish I lived in a nice cold Northern climate so I could have an excuse for making a whole wardrobe of warm beautiful sweaters. On the other hand, short sleeve lightweight sweaters must be faster and cheaper, right? South Texas is not bulky sweater heaven, *sigh*

Anyway, I am really glad to have found this great place!

:XX: