PDA

View Full Version : Scarf suggestions...

gardenmommy
10-12-2005, 03:20 PM
I'm pretty new to knitting (about a month) but I'm thinking that this Christmas I'll be gifting the ladies of the family with scarves. However, my nearest LYS (relatively speaking) is about 50 miles away, so not too convenient for me to get to and "experience" a lot of different yarns. I do plan on making a trip there some time, but I'm due with my fourth baby in about 11 days! I do have a Joann's and Hobby Lobby nearby though. There is also a nearby craft store that has more than the mass-marketed brands like some Plymouth and Artful yarns, but most of those are a bit beyond my budget. What I REALLY want to do is a Knitpicks order (twist my arm ;) ) since I want to get some of their self-patterning sock yarn to do the Simple Stripes baby sweater, so I need to get enough to get the free shipping . So anyway, I'm looking for suggestions of yarns (especially any from Knitpicks) that are:

1. At least hand washable, preferably machine washable, but don't want something that the owner might accidentially felt! LOL

2. Soft and wearable of course! I don't *think* anyone is sensitive to wool.

3. Would keep the price $10.00 for a good-sized scarf (or less), I'd probably have about 10 or so to do. Can't be doing that many $20.00 scarves! There were some scarves at the craft store made up from one skein of the $10/skein yarns, but they were pretty small.

Kristen : )

Julie
10-12-2005, 03:33 PM
Knitpicks....2 skeins of Suri Dream ($4 each) would make a wonderfully soft, decent sized scarf IMHO. Very fuzzy...if you're not into fuzz, Decadence is WONDERFUL, but a little more expensive. A 2-skein scarf would run you $13. And of course Panache is out of this world, so wonderfully soft!

Very few of the KP yarns are machine washable -- I think only a few of the sock yarns, and the cottons. Most wool/alpaca/etc has to be hand-washed.