PDA

View Full Version : help! braided hat pattern

junkfood_
11-10-2005, 02:53 AM
this is my first time using circular needles. decided to try the braided hat pattern:

http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/forum/viewtopic.php?t=143/

i've run into a couple of problems. okay. maybe alot. so please help me out!
and if you've tried this pattern, please help me with the size.

i'm using size 10 circular needles and this (http://www.bernat.com/product.php?LGC=softeechunky&SPP=999/) type of yarn. its slightly thick.
casted on 88 stitches and realised its still a little big for me [i have a small head. haha]
i just need to make it slightly smaller. i want it about 10.5'' across.

-the pattern says to use multiples of 11 that are even. would it matter if i used 77 stitches instead?

also, it says to use 16'' circular needles but i only have 29'' ones so i used the magic loop knitthing method.
however, when i divide the stitches on the two needles, it sort of gets stretched out inbetween by the connecting cable and leaves a small gap. would that matter in the end?

-i'm not sure what to do. :thinking: should i stick with the 29'' needles and use the magic loop method or get double pointed needles? which method is better?

KellyK
11-10-2005, 08:37 AM
I think you should get yourself a 16" circ...you will use 16s alot if you ever make more hats.

AND, I think when they say "even", they mean 44, 66, 88, etc. You may want to drop an email to "she who created the pattern" and ask why that's important.....

silveridger
11-10-2005, 01:10 PM
I'm guessing that the author of the pattern is suggesting multiples of 11 in even numbers in order to do the 2 x 2 ribbing. If you're sure you want to do 77 inches for the body of the hat, perhaps you could cast on 78, work your ribbing, and do a single k2tog or other decrease somewhere in the first row after your ribbing.

KellyK
11-10-2005, 01:33 PM