PDA

View Full Version : stitch marker makers

koolbreeze
11-13-2005, 10:45 AM
i need some help on making stitch markers. i couldn't find any rings big enough...so i just used beading wire. i don't like this look. so could anyone point me in the direction of where to find bigger rings? and how do you connect the wire to the ring and it looks neat?
thanks

Vendie
11-13-2005, 11:07 AM
I had a hard time finding any jump rings bigger than 10mm, but I know they exist.

On mine, I use round nose pliers to roll the head pin into a loop. Some people use crimp beads to secure a nice loop. I think it might just depend on what materials you're using. But I'm no expert on this, I just kind of made it up as I went along.

punkhippiemom
11-13-2005, 11:10 AM
They have special pliers that are made for beading/jewelry making that have a much narrower, rounded point to them, and help to make your wire bend more evenly...you can make your own rings out of beading wire easily if you have these pliers, as well... when I use my regular pliers, my rings always turn out lopsided :(

Carol_OH
11-13-2005, 12:11 PM
what I use is the round half of a toggle!
I still need to find out what to do with the other half as I cannot bear to toss them out! but most toggles I have found only go up to a size 10.5 needle, so for larger needles I have used pre-made wire rings that folks use to make wine glass charms.

there...I have told all my secrets! ;)

punkhippiemom
11-13-2005, 12:17 PM
I *almost* used one of DH's old earrings last night (he no longer wears them :verysad: said something about having to appear 'respectable' :rollseyes: LOL) but just couldn't quite see using 14k gold as a stitch marker :roflhard: :roflhard:

koolbreeze
11-13-2005, 01:25 PM
FiberGirl~ i know i can't find any either. maybe i'll have to check out a bead store... :thinking: but i do have the rounded pilers. i love them! i'll have to look for the beads next time i go to the craft store. thanks!

Carol~ whats a toggle?