PDA

View Full Version : My First Sock EVER!!!

jessi_9783
11-18-2005, 06:36 AM
Tuesday, I completed my first sock. I used KP Simple Stripes (http://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/yarn_display.aspx?itemid=5420113) in Crayon. I'm so proud of this sock because I did it without dpns. DPNs have never really appealed to me. In fact, I don't own any dpns. I must say I :heart: :heart: :heart: the ML method. Anyways, the pattern comes from Socks! The Next Step. (http://www.socksthenextstep.com) and is done cuff to toe. However, there is a toe-up version. I did the pattern with sz 1 40" addi turbo needle. The heel and toe are done with short rows. I've never done them or Kitchener stitch before. The socks are for my mom, who is modeling. She insisted on modeling it now instead of waiting for me to finish the its fraternal twin. When I started knitting the second sock she saw that the stripes would match with those on the sock and she said she didn't want them to match. So instead of the first band of color being yellow it's pink.

Ronda
11-18-2005, 07:47 AM
:cheering: Good job!

I have beautiful sock yarn from my LYS and a set of DPN, but I'm not quite ready yet to tackle socks. Your first sock, huh? I think you did a marvelous job!

KellyK
11-18-2005, 08:56 AM
YAYYYYYY! You've got HAPPY FEET!!! :cheering:

dustinac
11-18-2005, 09:46 AM
:cheering: Great Job :thumbsup:

kemp
11-18-2005, 10:08 AM
Looks awesome! Hard to believe it's your first one.

knitkat
11-18-2005, 10:24 AM
Just lovely! I have been working up the courage to try socks...I may give Silvers tutorial a try. The double points set me a shivering! :shock:

knitkat
11-18-2005, 10:25 AM
Just lovely! I have been working up the courage to try socks...I may give Silvers tutorial a try. The double points set me a shivering! :shock:

kemp
11-18-2005, 10:28 AM
Just jump right in! It's fun and silver's tutorial will get you through it with no problems!

DotMom61
11-18-2005, 10:57 AM
That is a downright perfect first sock!!!