PDA

View Full Version : Felting - and yarn brands

kitkat
12-01-2005, 12:48 PM
Do you need to use the same brand yarn within a project if they are being knitted up to the same gauge? The specific Project I have in mind is the felted clogs and the yarns I am debating combining (unless you gurus tell me not to!) are WOTA and Patons Classic and/or possibly Elann's Peruvian Highland. I have a specific color project I want, and WOTA doesnt have the right burgundy!

tigger0229
12-01-2005, 02:21 PM
I'm no expert, but as long as the gauge is correct and the yarn is 100% wool, I believe it is fine to sub.
I want to see a pic when you are done with the project!!

mintdee
12-01-2005, 02:46 PM
I am thinking of doing that as well. I have the yarn that I will be using so I am going to make a test swatch to make sure it will felt allright. If I remember correctly some wools will felt differently... or something like that :thinking:

I also could be pulling that out of the air. Any of you expert felters out there know?

KellyK
12-01-2005, 02:53 PM
Swatching is a good idea.

Im thinking the only problem may come in if you use one yarn for one part, say the straps of a purse, and another yarn for the body of the purse. The two parts may not felt evenly or at the same rate. BUT if you held both yarns together as ONE, then that should even things out.

kitkat
12-01-2005, 03:16 PM
Test swatch would be imperative I think.......

I am doing felted clogs, and am having a hard time finding the proper purple/burgundy/maroon that I need to match his letter jacket....I have the gold dead on though!

I could probably do the entire thing from the Patons stuff, but its just not as tastily priced as the Knit picks :)

yarnpiggy
12-01-2005, 06:26 PM