PDA

View Full Version : Felting?

chanters
12-02-2005, 02:35 PM
Hi :)

I'm a beginner in the world of knitting and I have never, ever, felted anything. I've seen some beautiful bags made by the nice people here and read discussions about which yarns felted nicely and which didn't. But I was wondering, with such lovely yarns out there, why would anyone want to buy any of the fancy ones and felt them? I mean, doesn't felt always look and feel pretty much the same? It seems so to me... Why not just buy cheap yarns that felt well for felting instead of using the nice ones that could go into elaborate sweaters or what not? Now, as I said, I've never felted anything but I would love to know what the pros might be for doing that to really nice yarns...

kemp
12-02-2005, 02:43 PM
I don't think many people here felt "nicer" wool. About the cheapest you can get is from www.knitpicks.com and a lot of people here use that.

chanters
12-02-2005, 02:56 PM
I don't think many people here felt "nicer" wool. About the cheapest you can get is from www.knitpicks.com and a lot of people here use that.

Really? Because there were times that's the impression I got :) Are colors dulled in felting? Is the felt rougher or softer than the yarn originally used?

koolbreeze
12-02-2005, 03:03 PM