PDA

View Full Version : does anyone knit diaper covers?

lotsakids
12-04-2005, 07:35 PM
hello..I am sitting here using the computer and my knitting as an excuse not to do housework this morning...[I'm in australia so it is morning here]..is that a bad thing?..hehe

well its not entirely true, the dishwasher is going, the washing machine is on, the baby is asleep and the 2 yo is fed and dressed..so its not all bad.

I have been knitting and crocheting since I was 6, pretty much self taught with a few tips from mum...my latest projects have been nappy[diaper] covers, [I also sew the nappys to go with them]...I was wondering if there was anyone else out there who makes the covers too..janine

Julie
12-04-2005, 07:38 PM
I've made three...one pair of longies and two diaper-cover style soakers. I don't CD, but I have friends who do. Thankfully my youngest is almost out of diapers! :D

I knit the two diaper cover soakers out of Malabrigo wool -- absolutely the softest wool I've ever felt. It's heavenly...IMHO the perfect wool for soakers!

lotsakids
12-04-2005, 07:46 PM
hi julie, nice to meet you..i dont know much about different wool types, what we get here in oz is different to what you get where you are, but I use mostly 100% pure marino wool........we live in a very small country town so local supplies are very limited.
I am testing a pattern at the moment on a ball of cheap acrylic yarn, I have seen some soakers made from acrylic, and since they dont have to be lanolised, figured I'd make a test one and use it on my baby if the pattern turns out. Not my favourite yarn but I had a spare ball and didnt want to waste the good stuff if it wasnt going to work..janine

Hildegard_von_Knittin
12-04-2005, 10:00 PM
WOW... you must have a LOT of diapers to knit!!!!!! I've made a few pairs, for girlfriends, from a free pattern, that's afairly easy. I can type it up if you want.

lotsakids
12-05-2005, 12:13 AM