PDA

View Full Version : OT: What I learned in Massage class

humblestumble
12-14-2005, 03:25 AM
Well, I found out in massage class that people who think they might have sciatica (not people diagnosed with it), and that people who think they have carpal tunnel syndrome may actually not have that condition. It may actually be cause by tense muscles elsewhere that pinch a nerve further up from the source of the tingling.

Now, IMO, I think that people who are diagnosed with it may also not actually have it. I'm not a doctor, but I also don't think that they always know what they are talking about, but some of them do. So, don't take my word for it, but I like to try out alternative routes. These disorders or whathaveyou are commonly misdiagnosed. See here (http://www.triggerpointbook.com/) for more info on trigger point massage and commonly misdiagnosed disorders.

Anyway, since starting this class, I will recommend human hand massages to everyone I know! There are SO many benefits to getting massage, and it's been around for SO long, but it's not as "important" in society as it once was. It used to be a part of everyday life and well being. So, I advise you to get a massage! Not just those electronic things, but someone who knows what they are doing. And tell them what you do all day to help them find out what's causing aches and pains.

Most people have aches in their rhombus muscle (next to the shoulder blade) and around that region, because we are always using our arms and everythings connected. So I advise you to be more aware of how you sit and how you do things because every part of your body is connected and if one part hurts more than another I can almost garantee to you that it's not coming from that spot, but from somewhere else.

Anyway...I'll let you guys knit. I just thought I had to get the word out to try to help others like myself. I have pretty bad back problems.