PDA

View Full Version : Is it normal to be a loose knitter?

Wild Lotus
12-24-2005, 12:10 AM
I knit with the yarn in my left hand, I guess that's called continental? Also, I used to be a massage therapist and my hands are very messed up from that. Because of that, I can't hold things very tightly. I even have to vary how I wrap the yard around my fingers because some days I can't hold the yarn tightly enough. The repetitive motion of knitting doesn't hurt my hands (actually seems to help a bit) but I can't do things that take a lot of tension or pressure.

My stitches seem pretty regular and I find the left handed knitting to go pretty quickly. However, my stitching is pretty loose. To get gauge, I usually have to go down a needle size or two.

So far I've only made socks and hats. I'm feeling pretty confident and ready to start my first sweater soon. However, I'm wondering if my loose knitting is going to cause any problems. Is this a problem or a bad habit that I'm going to have to correct soon? Or can I go on knitting confidently knowing that my knitting will work itself out?

Ingrid
12-24-2005, 12:15 AM
Some people are loose knitters and some are tight. That's why they give gauge in patterns, so people can adjust needle size accordingly. Find a tension that's comfortable for you and you can work with that just fine.

jelly
12-24-2005, 02:23 AM
i read the title of this thread as meaning something TOTALLY different

knitbebe
12-24-2005, 02:34 AM
Many knitting teachers will encourage beginners to loosen up a bit. Im pretty sure that I have read that Elizabeth Zimmermann preferred a loose tension --and was also a picker (guys, correct me if I'm wrong) so if my memory serves me correct you are following in zimmermann's footsteps--How awesome is that.

knitbebe

humblestumble
12-24-2005, 02:50 AM