PDA

View Full Version : Recently got the

glucose101
12-31-2005, 03:35 AM
I recently purchased the Vogueknitting Knit. 1 Magazine. Anyways, I saw something that I liked (number 16, Man's zippered pullover). It calls for 16 skeins of Edwardian and 2 skeins of Granite of Homespun (by Lion Brand); 6oz/170g skeins, 185 yards.167 m (acrylic/polyester); size 10 needles. My dilemma is that I don't have the money to purchase 18 skeins at 6 dollars/skein. Any alternatives that won't mess me up (I'm a beginner). Thanks! :)

trucker945
12-31-2005, 04:11 AM
I haunt the thrift stores like Goodwill and Salvation Army. Last month I hauled out 20 POUNDS of yarns including 11 skeins of wool in the wrappers and same dye lot, 13 skeins of matched angora, as well as dye lot matched skeins of acrylics and cottons. Filled the back seat of the car.
Total cost was $14 plus tax. My stash runneth over... :happydance:
If you decide to give it a shot, don't be afraid to grab all of a dye lot you can find in the bin, and then ask the store manager if there is more in the back. They want to sell it, and you want to buy it. They may even allow you in the back to search for yourself (although it is against policy, if you're there often enough and they get to know you, it could happen).
You might also find some real deals on needles, crochet hooks, patterns, books, etc.
And don't forget to take notice of when those 50% off sales days are, usually once a month - every month! :thumbsup:

glucose101
12-31-2005, 05:13 AM
So no like alternative types of yarn I could purchase from like Walmart (less $$$)?

trucker945
12-31-2005, 08:14 AM
A store clerk may be able to help you choose, but don't be afraid to try a different color, or brand. As long as the "weight" of the yarn is the same, and your sample swatch knits up in the same gauge, you should do just fine.