PDA

View Full Version : How many knitting needles do you own?

catontheroof
02-08-2006, 03:01 AM
I'm new knitter, I wonder....
How many needles do you have (are you beginner/advanced knitter)?

The thing is, when I read about gauge, it says 'change needles to obtain gauge'... it makes me wonder 'wow, then we knitters have to own almost every needles possible'. Except that around my area there arent many craft shops, and the needles arent that cheap. If I have to buy new needles size everytime I find a pattern I like... whoa, no way.

Do you have any tips? Maybe you substitute the yarn, or you figure your own gauge, or something like that? I'm new to knitting so... forgive me for asking obvious questions :P

How many needles do you think knitters should have?

Debbie
02-08-2006, 07:05 AM
Proud to say ... too many to count ... Carol ... is that why you went into "the business" ????? :)

jessi_9783
02-08-2006, 07:31 AM
That's one of the best reasons to get an interchangeable set like the Denise's (http://www.knitdenise.com/about.cfm) or Boye's (http://www.wrights.com/products/catalog/boyeline/knitmates_accs.htm). I rarely get the same gauge as the designer so having the the Denise set has be invaluable to me. There's a whole thread (http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2062) on the pros and cons of each set.

As for your question, I've been a knitter since May 2005 and I have a both a Denise set, a Boye set that I hate, and 6 Addi Turbo's ranging in sizes US 000 to 4.

Jax3303
02-08-2006, 08:04 AM
Here's what I have.

I have straights, sizes 3, 6, 8, 10, and 19
DPN's: sizes 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10.5
circs: (multiples of each) 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10.5, 13
and I have a set of denise interchangables. :heart:

KellyK
02-08-2006, 08:34 AM
You are going to sadly limit yourself if you limit your needle collection. Do it a little bit at a time....they are purchases you will only have to make once! Its an investment!

I have two sets of Denise Interchangeables