PDA

View Full Version : OT: Sewing Machine ?

silveridger
03-04-2006, 07:42 PM
I find myself in the position of having to buy a new sewing machine. I've been using my mom's for the past 20 years or so, an early Singer zig zag. It's always worked fine and suits my needs, but DD needs it now and I am left without. And although I don't sew much, now that I don't have a machine I NEED one after repainting the house, must make window coverings, ya know ;) . I planned to just go out and buy a low-end Singer, but wondered if anyone has strong feelings about a better brand... Singer is no doubt not the same machine it used to be, and I'd like to be happy with this one for another 20 years. Don't need anything fancy, just the basics. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Julie
03-04-2006, 07:46 PM
I got my Singer from a sewing machine repair shop. It was funny -- I walked in to look and the place was filled with brand spanking new high-end machines, and I said, "I want a machine that goes forward and backward, zig-zag would be a plus." They went to the back and pulled out this machine from the 60's, in great shape, complete with the original instruction manual.

They reconditioned it themselves and have helped me for free the two times I had very minor issues with it. It's been absolutely fabulous (it does have decorative stitches too and an automatic buttonholer :thumbsup: ) and weeeellll worth the $50 I spent on it! Ever since, I've always recommended that people look at their local repair shop. :D

Sara
03-05-2006, 12:04 AM
I would start with repair shops or eBay and look for a 1960's model Singer. If that's not an option, try a low -end White brand before buying a new Singer. DD bought a Singer and it was total crap (pardon the expression). She ended up with a White, and we've been really happy with it. The 16yo lets me use it to do buttonholes.

humblestumble
03-05-2006, 10:10 AM