PDA

View Full Version : Sock question

abbygail
03-24-2006, 01:30 PM
Ok here is my first question about making this sock. Because I am not a peson who can picture things ahead of time.

I knit and purled all the stitches on the first needle...I am about to go to the second needle.
First.......does it matter which needle I go to next?

second.... if the needle I just worked is now my working needle will all the stitches wind up back on one needle?

I don't want to screw this up have to go back to class on Monday night with nothing done.

Thanks, Evelyn :??

Jan in CA
03-24-2006, 01:47 PM
I am no expert at this and still struggling to do the first few rows on DPNs, but generally, you just keep going to the left. You should be able to tell because of where the working yarn is.

Each time you work a needle the stitches transfer to the working needle. It goes like that all the way around.

Someone should be able to add to and clarify this soon.

sfavereau
03-24-2006, 02:36 PM
http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Beginning.htm

Silver explains it a lot better than I can.... Hope that helps.

abbygail
03-24-2006, 10:11 PM
I went to the tutorial but it didn't explain what I am asking. At least I didn't see it.
I think I am just really scaring myself. Everyone said socks weren't that difficult.
Evelyn :?? :(

Ingrid
03-24-2006, 10:16 PM
If you have your stitches divided on three needles, and you just knit the stitches from the first needle, you'll use the empty needle that you just knit the stitches from and knit on the next needle on the left. When you finish with those stitches, you'll have another empty needle in your hand, and you'll work the next stitches on the needle that follows on the left, again. You just keep doing this around and around.

abbygail
03-24-2006, 10:27 PM
Thank You so much Ingrid now I can move on. :happydance:

I guess I am the kind of person who needs someone right there to explain each step when I am unsure.