PDA

View Full Version : OT: question for FeministMama (& others) re marine lette

VictoiseC
03-31-2006, 05:25 PM
Hi ! FeministMama I have a question for you.

At my church last Sunday they asked for stuff for Marines they are going to send over to Iraq. They needed items like deodorant & sunscreen
???? hello, why doesn't the government supply that..... (wait that's not the question)

but they also asked for letters because a lot of marines don't have a family that writes them. Since I am a writer and I love to write, I sat down and composed a long letter Wed morning. In it I said this but then I got to thinking and thought I don't want to what's the word, upset them?
Make them feel stupid. So maybe I should leave it out?

Since it's yours you are the person to ask:

Here's the excerpt from my letter:

I do hope you are doing ok over there. I won’t get into any political factors. Except ha, except there’s one person in my online group: I belong to a fantastic knitter’s forum and we check in every day believe it or not, and we show each other pictures of stuff we knit and we are not all old! Anyhow, they have sayings sometimes under their names and this one person, FeministMama in Seattle, hers says:
“War doesn’t determine who is right, It determines who is left.”

I hope that’s ok to send you but god knows you know more about it than me right now.

So what do you think? It's a great line btw. Vic

aylaanne
03-31-2006, 09:18 PM
I wouldn't send it. I checked with my fiancé, who's a veteran of that war, and he thinks it's a very bad idea, especially to a marine.