PDA

View Full Version : Don't forget why you started knitting!

Shandeh
04-05-2006, 10:50 PM
I've been knitting now for about 3 years, learning the stitches and techniques. I started out making those furry scarves that were all the rage last year. I think I sold about 30 of them! Now, I am sick of making those, and I completely ignore the eyelash yarn section at the craft store.

Recently, I started knitting the "Irish Hiking Scarf", and it was so satisfying to see the cables and texture of the yarn. Yesterday, I was at a restaurant, waiting for my husband to get there (he was driving from work). I was sitting on a bench at the front of the restaurant, working on my scarf, and several people came over and talked to me about my knitting. They were impressed with the cables and texture too.

Then it struck me.....THIS is the kind of knitting I always wanted to learn. THIS is the reason I started knitting in the first place!

So...I think I should make a decision to continue pursuing the "textural" patterns, since that's what gives me the most satisfaction. Following trends and "new" yarns has gotten me sidetracked. Time to get back to what I really want.

Ingrid
04-05-2006, 10:52 PM
Absolutely! If you don't love what you're making, what's the point?

jamadian75
04-05-2006, 10:53 PM
Here here!! :cheering:

I just love that this "craft" can still have new discoveries (or re-discoveries) to it even after doing it for some time.

Good for you! And thanks for the reminder!

KellyK
04-05-2006, 10:59 PM
Sometimes I knit something to try a new yarn or technique....sometimes I just knit because I want or need something, or because I want to give a gift....but, I NEVER want to feel "stuck" or tired of it.

rebecca
04-06-2006, 10:59 AM