PDA

View Full Version : I found a great pattern book for advanced beginners!

bethie
05-01-2006, 12:14 PM
Title of book: Funky Chunky Knitted Accessories

The book I have been looking for all my life!
This book is the best! I am an advanced beginner, meaning I can cast on, knit, purl, and bind off with ease. I am learning how to increase and decrease and it is not that hard. This book rocks because it is designed for advanced beginners meaning you want to something besides just knit a scarf but aren't ready to tackle scary sweaters yet.

This book presents 6 basic patterns for (1) a hat, (2) a scarf, (3) a bag, (4) a caplet, (5) mittens and you don't have to knit them on circular or DPNS! amazing, and (6) I forget. It presents the basic patter and the has full illustrations and directions for variations.

Also lots of tips for adding your own embellishments like edging or embroidery and other things. I LOVE this book and can't wait to get started on it. I can easily see myself making several projects for Christmas gifts.

If you can find it get it! It is a bit expensive, but I had a 30% off coupon to use at Borders Bookstore so it bumped it down to about $18

05-01-2006, 12:35 PM
May I also add a good book??? Its called Mason*Dixon Knitting. By Kay Gardiner & Ann Shayne. It is such a great book too. I highly recommend it. :D

brendajos
05-01-2006, 01:37 PM
okay so i started reading this thread because i did a search on the Mason Dixon book...i thought that was what this thread was about :rollseyes: I was reading along and thought that their hat and mitten patterns were being done flat and was very sad cuz i don't wanna do flat hats that i have to seam up afterwards! (i am toooooooo lazy for that!) ....well then i get to the second post and see that is just an added post...lol. i am so relieved!