PDA

View Full Version : Addi turbo or Denise?

Diamonznpurlz
05-17-2006, 02:16 PM
Hello!!! I am a newbie knitter (always wanted to learn!!!) working on a fitted tank pattern from Blue Sky Alpaca. I have made more scarves/wraps than I can count. I also made a simple hat from the Stitch n Bitch book. Now, I am being brave an attempting an actual garment!!!

Anyhow, I want to learn to use circular needles and would appreciate expert advice. Should I purchase the Addi Turbo needles or the Denise? Which are better and why? Id rather invest on something that is going to last. Please let me know what you all think. Thanks!!!! ;)

Holly
05-17-2006, 02:23 PM
Hello :D I would purchase the Denise needles. It is soooo nice to have all the sizes you might need in one kit, and I just :heart: my set! Having said that, I also love Addi's! When doing a large project with a lot of straigt knitting, an Addi circular is nice. I was doing a poncho, and I bought an extra long Addi circular for that. Generally, though, I use my Denise's for most things. I love that you can adjust the length of cord mid project if needed. For example, I was working on a bag and misjudged the length of circular I needed. It was a snap to add on to the Denise cord and make it longer. I've also taken off my needle tips and put on the smallest needle tip when I had to frog some knitting and get the stitches back on the needles.

rebecca
05-17-2006, 02:34 PM
:D I have both. My husband surprised me with my Denise set not too long after I began knitting & it was wonderful to have such a variety of sizes & combinations. I now knit almost exclusively with my addi's. love them both, but I recommend Denises when you are beginning. Addi's are very slick & sometimes take some getting used to ;)

Celine
05-17-2006, 02:36 PM