PDA

View Full Version : calling all sock knitters

ctmax
05-18-2006, 05:24 PM
What do you do with the little bits of yarn left? I thought of making striped socks, but how would you know how much yarn to leave for the other sock so they are the same? It seems like such a waste not to do anything with it. :D

rebecca
05-18-2006, 06:09 PM
So far, I've done nothing with my leftovers, I'm thinking about doing toddler socks for my granddaughter :D

horve1
05-18-2006, 07:16 PM
I'm only on my 2nd pair of socks, so I'm no expert, but I'd roll my leftovers into 2 balls the same size so I'd have equal amounts for each one.

Jenelle
05-18-2006, 11:20 PM
Maybe with left over sock yarn you could make hacky sacks? :thinking:

orr..

This!! (http://sskyop2.blogspot.com/2006/04/jealousy-and-full-body-sock-blanket.html)

gardenmommy
05-18-2006, 11:36 PM
Oooh, that's so cool Jenelle!

Here's a more recent picture of her progress!

http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/2693/1753/1600/IMGP1030.0.jpg

carollovesyarn
05-19-2006, 01:22 AM
That's one of the neatest projects for leftover sock yarn I've seen! Thanks for sharing.

Jan in CA
05-19-2006, 01:25 AM
Now if it wasn't for all that seaming..that would be an awesome project!

kemp
05-19-2006, 04:26 AM
If you work toe up, you can keep knitting until you run out of yarn :) Definitely my favorite way.

Not sure if she is still accepting them, but http://majorknitter.typepad.com/
was collecting leftover bits of yarn for a charity project.

Nikki
05-19-2006, 07:27 AM
I just finished my first ever socks :cheering: last night. I was wondering what I was going to do with leftovers and I love that idea. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Nikki

Shandeh
05-19-2006, 08:42 AM
I LOVE the blanket idea. Way cool!

You could also use leftover sock yarn to make doll clothes for Barbie-size dolls. You could make a striped top or skirt or dress very easily.

nicolethegeek
05-19-2006, 09:08 AM