PDA

View Full Version : pretty tank top! and Q's

XbelovedXoneX
05-26-2006, 07:18 AM
So I absolutely :heart: this pretty tank top (http://thriftyknitter.com/?p=9). I just have a couple concerns about it...

1) It's written for a medium, but I wear a small. Any ideas how I could modify it?

2) I'm a pretty beginner knitter. I'm having a hard time getting my head around the instructions for the darts. Can anyone simplify what it's saying?

Thanks!

Ingrid
05-26-2006, 09:43 AM
Since they don't really tell you what the measurements are for the medium, it's hard to say how much smaller the small would be. You could try it on a smaller needle or with different yarn. :thinking:

The darts are just basic decreases, and would be easier to understand once you got there. You've got the marker to show you where to do them, then you do one type of decrease before the marker and one after.

XbelovedXoneX
05-26-2006, 11:10 AM
thanks! When I read a pattern I usually try and visualize what it's asking me to do. But you're right, it usually is so much easier to understand when it's right there in front of you!

I'll have to brainstorm and work out a way to make this to fit my mini stature. :rofling:

Hildegard_von_Knittin
05-26-2006, 02:18 PM
Be careful with super chunky yarn and small needles... you might end up with fabric that is super stiff!

XbelovedXoneX
05-26-2006, 03:31 PM
maybe I will have to search out a new yarn... or maybe it's just more trouble than it's worth! :doh:

Littleredhen
06-13-2006, 10:44 PM
I'm so glad you posted the tank pattern link. I have been looking for a tank made out of chunky yarn, and I finally lucked up : ) I had an extra hank left over from a summer sweater last year, and I can finally put it to good use.

Littleredhen
06-13-2006, 10:52 PM